Weekly News – Term 4 | Week 1

Mrs Laverty, recipient of the Jim Campbell Teaching Award

Dear Parents and Caregivers,

Our first assembly of the Term was an opportunity to recognise some outstanding achievements by students and staff as you will see below. It was a very positive way to start the term – celebrating successes and acknowledging the hard work and commitment of so many of our students. I hope you enjoy reading about them all in this newsletter.

We are pleased to announce that Claire Laverty has been awarded the Jim Campbell Teaching Award.  This national award recognises personal excellence in Primary or Secondary classroom teaching and support given to others in enhancing their classroom.  Mrs Laverty was nominated for this by the local association of Maths Teachers. At St Hilda’s, she is known as the singing Maths teacher but more widely, she is recognised for her writing of assessments and NCEA textbooks.  As well, Mrs Laverty has done considerable work running workshops and helping other teachers learn new skills and develop new ways of communicating maths. She is recognised nationally in particular for her work in teaching statistics and this award acknowledges her contribution to the teaching community and we were thrilled to welcome her back into school on Tuesday to acknowledge her achievements at assembly.

St Hilda’s Day is being held at 10.00am on Sunday 29 October at St Paul’s Cathedral.  It is expected that all students will attend the service on this morning.  Any absences must be emailed to Geraldine Corkery, with a reason, care of admin@shcs.school.nz.  All students need to be at the Cathedral by 9.40am in formal uniform.  We ask that the girls bring a $2.00 coin for the offering.

We are pleased to announce that the new Board of Trustees Student Representative is Issie Robertson.  Issie will attend her first meeting next week.  Current Student Representative Stella Keown will also be attending next week’s meeting as her last, and she will be formally thanked by the Board.

We are also pleased to announce our 2017 Mana Pounamu recipients – Eva Meeuws (Junior) and Katherine Inder (Senior).  Eva and Katherine are outstanding candidates for this award; both enjoy a wide range of activities and are strong academics, who are wonderful role models for our Maori students. They will be acknowledged at the Mana Pounamu Award Ceremony next Thursday evening.

We are delighted with the number of University Scholarships that our Year 13s have been awarded for 2018. These scholarships are hotly contested with large numbers of applications each year. The numbers of successful applicants from St Hilda’s is a testimony to the calibre of our girls and the assistance staff give them during their time at the school. We do not have the complete list of scholarship winners yet, but we would like to congratulate the following students who have thus far been awarded university scholarships:

Central Lakes Trust Scholarship

  • Stella Keown
  • Ella McDonald
  • Olivia Whelan-Henderson

University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship recipients:

  • Adithi Alexander
  • Dayna Gallagher
  • Georgia Hay
  • Gabby Hunter
  • Emma Jack
  • Molly Johnson
  • Amy Jones
  • Stella Keown
  • Laura Taylor

University of Otago New Frontiers Scholarship recipients:

  • Josie Cook
  • Jemma Harbrow

University of Otago Māori and Pacific Peoples’ Entrance Scholarship

  • Emma Alcock

Maori and Pasifika People and Tu Kahika Scholarship

  • Dayna Gallagher

Victoria Excellence Scholarship

  • Emma Jack
  • Ella McDonald

Otago University Performance Scholarship

  • Nicole Ruske

Vice Chancellor’s Scholarship

  • Laura Simpson

University of Otago Academic Excellence Scholarship recipients (worth $45,000)

  • Maddie Guthrie
  • Rachel Kinley
  • Ella McDonald
  • Emma Taggart

Further to the notice of enrolment procedure information that was posted in the weekly newsletter dated 1 September 2017, we can now confirm that at the Board of Trustees meeting held on 28 September, the Board ratified that the Year 7 enrolment procedure be amended to fall in line with the Year 9 procedure which is by ballot.  Applications made for a Year 7 place received before September 1 2017 will still fall under the previous system.

Our present canteen manager Jonathan McDowall is finishing at the end of Week 3. With the canteen premises being unavailable due to NCEA examinations we will not be operating a canteen from November 6 until the end of term.  We would like to thank him for his work and wish him all the best for his future endeavours.  We will be looking at options for how we can most efficiently operate our canteen from 2018 onwards.

From the PFA

Tolcarne News

Week one is always exciting as the girls return to Tolcarne, reconnecting with each other
and we enjoy catching up and hearing their holiday adventures. This week’s weather has
been all four seasons, a winter Monday and Tuesday, while Thursday saw the girls being brave, taking their first swim in the sparkling pool – thanks to Steve.

Year 12 boarders have had to consider if they want to enter their name into the 2018 leadership hat and complete the Expressions of Interest form for a head boarders’ position next year, this closes today.

Our last tribe dinner is Monday October 30th and the girls will have an opportunity to present to all the boarders. Stella, Izzy and Mrs Rathbone have been organising the Christmas dinner and Year 13 farewell, this will be upon us before we know it.

The girls are looking forward to their ‘stay in’ weekend next weekend with a fun Saturday of Inter-tribe sports and fun competitions and the St Hilda’s Day Service on Sunday.

Student Achievement

Re-Draft is an annual national creative writing competition for teenagers run by The School for Young Writers. It offers writers aged 13-19 the chance to be published professionally.  Hundreds of entries are sent in from all over New Zealand and the prize is being published in the Re-Draft book, which contains 40 to 50 authors. Congratulations to Issie Robertson, Victoria Tong, Catherine Davidson and Susie Olssen, whose works will be featured in the 17th Re-Draft book.

Maddie Guthrie and Laney Keenan have been nominated for awards at the 48hour Film Festival Grand Final in the “Best High School Team” and “Best Female Director” categories. Their main actor has also been nominated in the “Best Actor” category.

Tamara Mason has received a Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Hillary Award and Bronte Chamberlain, Emma Crampton, Amy Jones and Laura Simpson received Silver Duke of Edinburgh Hillary Awards.

Lucie Holtz competed at the Ice Figure Skating National competition in the holidays.  Lucy competed in the biggest grade and placed fifth.  She also made the International B Team and has been selected to represent New Zealand at the Australian Ice Figure Skating Nationals.

Emily Perry has been invited by Badminton New Zealand to attend the NZ U19 National Selection Camp in Hamilton in November.

The St Hilda’s Senior A Netball team placed 8th at the New Zealand Secondary Schools’ Netball Tournament held over the holidays – the only South Island team to feature in the top 8.

The St Hilda’s Senior A Basketball team placed 10th at the New Zealand Secondary Schools’ Basketball Tournament held over the holidays.

A number of our girls competed in the New Zealand Short Course Swimming Champs over the holidays.  Cecilia Crooks won gold in the Girls’ 16 years 400m Individual Medley by .02 of a second. She also gained bronze in her 800m Freestyle race and silver in the 200m Butterfly.  Jessica Scott also won a silver medal in the 100m Butterfly and silver in the 200m Butterfly.